Better than a Bra

Nothing’s better than knowing that someone out there has your back come hell or high water. That someone is actually willing to be your ride or die and it’s not just according to a hashtag under a birthday picture. No. Someone out there who will, when you call, rush directly to your side as soon as they can, put aside their things to help you and be there for you. If your partner isn’t giving you more support than your everyday, wear till it starts itching you, bra then what’s the use of putting your heart in the hands of someone you’re not sure you can trust with your life. And if it’s a constant question in the back of your mind whether your friends have your back, then what’s the use surrounding yourself with those people. And please save me the speech about oh you shouldn’t be friends with someone because of what they can do for you. Why not? Why do I want to be friends with people who add nothing to my life? Who just take up space in my contact list, and unnecessary space too because when I’m in trouble they are not in my top twenty of people to call? People need people. And I want to be the kind of person that someone can rely on and I want to be surrounded by people who encourage that sort of behaviour in me. People who feed my energy, not feed off of it. People who give and not drain and I too give back and not drain. This is how healthy relationships should be. Relationships are give AND take and often we are too consumed with one or the other. I want to spend the rest of my life with people who I can count on, people who will support me and we will support each other. I want to say my vows to someone who believes every word of it cause I know I sure as hell would. I want relationships that are so much better than a bra.

Leave a Reply

