Girls Should be Seen Not Heard

For those who have been with me for quite some time, you might remember a series I did called Girls Should be Seen Not Heard. Well, good news 🙂 The book is here!

Here’s a back story to why I chose this particular title.

When I was in school, I’d hear this statement used a couple of times whenever the girls wouldn’t settle down for class or assembly. Probably innocent but it was always a confusing statement to me. As I witnessed women around me shut down and silenced, been silenced a few times myself and heard about the struggles women around the world faced, it confused me even more. Then I’d read history books about how women had to fight to be considered people, and I was lost for words. That’s why this book is so special to me. These poems were written during my own battles with insecurities, doubts, body image and opposing forces. They were written when I’d have bouts of anxiety and loneliness. They were there for me when I desperately searched for confidence, courage, stability and boldness. And now, I hope they’ll be there for you. This title was chosen with the intent of being ironic, as with each page and poem, my voice (and I hope yours when you read along) grows louder and louder.

We are meant to be seen.

We are meant to be heard.

There’s no turning back now.

Click the link below ❤Girls must be seen not heard (1)

Girls Should be Seen Not Heard

Leave a comment